Many different types of truck accidents may occur on the Florida roads, with one of them being rollover accidents. Follow along to find out what is considered a rollover truck accident in the state of Florida and how one of the proficient Panama City truck accident attorneys at Manuel & Thompson, PA can walk you through your legal options.
What is considered a rollover truck accident in the state of Florida?
A rollover accident can happen with larger automobiles like SUVs, vans, buses, and most commonly, trucks. More specifically, this type of accident occurs when a truck or otherwise flips over on its side or roof due to a crash or otherwise a loss of control.
For example, this may commonly occur if a truck driver is speeding while navigating curved roads. This is because a truck’s center of gravity is higher than that of standard passenger vehicles. And so, they are more prone to tipping or flipping over, especially when there is a significant amount of cargo on board.
Who is responsible for a rollover truck accident?
More often than not, a rollover truck accident is caused by the negligence of a truck driver. This is because truck drivers must practice extra precaution when it comes to making sharp turns and timing when to hit their brakes, more so than drivers of standard passenger vehicles.
But other times, a rollover truck accident may be caused by another party involved. Or it may even be due to poor weather conditions, hazards on the road, and other outside elements. Examples of other potential at-fault parties for such an accident include the following:
- A truck manufacturer: that is, they fail to recall and correct mechanical problems, such as brake issues and breakdown issues.
- A truck employer: that is, they send the driver on the road after they reached their federal driving limit of 11 hours within a 14-hour shift or 70 hours total within a week.
- Other motorists: that is, they may be driving recklessly, aggressively, while drowsy, or while intoxicated.
What is the statute of limitations for a truck accident claim?
Regardless of how you were involved in a rollover truck accident, but so long as it was due to no fault of your own, you may be eligible to file a personal injury claim. You especially may want to do so if you incurred serious injuries and damages from your accident, and your insurance claim did not cover the full extent of them.
Though, you must keep in mind that the state of Florida has a set deadline when it comes to these types of claims. Otherwise known as the statute of limitations, this deadline is typically four years from the date of your accident. So give us a call before it is too late.